Diary of a freelance writer: 23 November 2016

Oops a daisy, a day late – and it was all going so well … well, of a fashion.

I’ve been mostly doing NaNoWriMo, but also clearing a proofreading job. I hadn’t realised the deadline was this Thursday, I thought it was Friday. So it’s a good job I checked. As it was, I delivered it last night (Wednesday), so it was early/on time-ish. And I was having a bit of a breather, a bit of a potter, a bit of a popping-in-to-see-the-neighbour. But that was this morning, Thursday, and now we have to pretend it’s yesterday – Wednesday.

Wednesday 16 November 2016
Wednesday was day 16 of NaNoWriMo and, until yesterday (this  Wednesday), I was doing quite well. I wrote 1,751 words for NaNo and I wrote 961 words for a blog post.

In the afternoon I edited a long short story, 10,000 words, and got that delivered.

Wednesday evening was band practice, so I did the shopping.

Thursday 17 November 2016
On Thursday, I wrote 1,772 words for NaNoWriMo in the morning, and I started the proofreading job that I delivered yesterday in the afternoon. I also did gig list admin but “diary work” has now moved to Tuesdays.

Friday 18 November 2016
On Friday, I wrote 687 words for a blog post, I wrote 1,715 words for NaNoWriMo, and I raised an invoice (hurrah!). I had an early finish today, though, as we both had hair appointments at 4pm.

Long weekend
On Saturday, I wrote 1,717 words for NaNoWriMo. We decided to stay in for the rest of the day and potter around the house and garden.

On Sunday, I wrote 1,712 words for NaNoWriMo.

Monday 21 November 2016
On Monday morning, I wrote 575 words of a blog post and I wrote 1,714 words for NaNo.

The afternoon was spent “meal planning” as we’ve started a new diet. As I was about to print off some recipes and a meal plan, however, the printer packed up. It was asking for a new imaging unit and refused to budge, but some online research proved that this could cost up to £90 (apx $112).

The printer is just under 2 years old, and some more research told us that this particular printer is designed to switch off at 5,000 copies – no warning, no time to do it, it just went. But some more research told us we could repair and reset it ourselves, so we thought we’d try that first before shelling out for a new printer. They’re so cheap now it wouldn’t have been worth buying a new imaging unit.

Tuesday 22 November 2016
On Tuesday NaNo started to slow down. I was running out of steam and each new word was like pulling teeth. However, I managed 1,650 words before calling it a day.

I was in receipt of a new hen house by 9am. We’re rescuing 6 caged hens at the end of their commercial lives and they’re coming on 3 December.

The afternoon was spent on the proofreading job that I thought didn’t have to be in until this Friday. It was Tuesday that I discovered the deadline was actually Thursday, so I cracked on with that.

The poet nipped out in his lunch break to find the part we needed for the printer. It cost him 9p (apx 11c), so he bought 2 just to be on the safe side … When he got home, he did the business, reset the page counter and removed the grossly expensive part and … voila! The printer worked! And it was better than it was before. So there’s another 5,000 pages I have before it blows again.

Homework w/c 23 November 2016
If I can keep going, I still have NaNoWriMo until 30 November. This afternoon (Thursday) I start a new edit, a book this time. That should be done by early next week. I also have another invoice to raise on Friday (hurrah!). If I can keep this up, I should be able to invoice for something at least once a week. This is very good with Christmas just around the corner.

The hen house will be built tomorrow (Friday), if the poet manages to get a day off. And we’ll be swotting up on keeping chickens before our ladies arrive.

What are you up to this week?

Leave a Reply

