Diary of a freelance writer: 9 November 2016

Once again it’s been a good week, and I’ve even been writing every single day. This in itself is an achievement as I often much prefer to take the weekends off. However, it is NaNo month, and that’s helping a lot. Because it’s NaNo month, the diary might look a tad dull at times, as this is probably what I’ll be mostly working on. It is adding words to Catch the Rainbow, though.

Wednesday 2 November 2016
Wednesday was day 2 of NaNoWriMo and for those who haven’t seen my little Writertopia man, I wrote 1,703 words. I also wrote 923 words for a blog post, and I continued editing a book for a client.

Thursday 3 November 2016
On Thursday, I wrote 1,688 words for NaNoWriMo, and I continued with the edit.

Friday 4 November 2016
On Friday, I wrote 479 words for a blog post, and I wrote 1,692 words for NaNoWriMo. I finished the hard copy edit of the book and started the electronic copy edit.

Weekend
On Saturday, we went for a walk around Clayton West village. We’d looked at the weather and decided that Saturday was the best day. When we got back I wrote 1,752 words for NaNoWriMo and was very pleased with myself. We were supposed to be going to a bonfire, but the bad weather had already arrived and we were snuggled up all warm and cosy. The poet made pasta for tea. He also made bread.

On Sunday, we watched the rain and I wrote 1,803 words for NaNoWriMo – my best day so far.

Monday 7 November 2016
On Monday, I wrote 272 words for a blog post and I wrote 1,592 words for NaNoWriMo – my worst day so far. But I didn’t beat myself up because I’ve been over every single day to date. I finished the electronic edit on the book and delivered it

Tuesday 8 November 2016
Tuesday was very, very cold in the house. I couldn’t get the place to warm up at all. So I did my usual daily admin stuff at the desk, then I closed all the doors, made sure the living room at least was warm enough, and I snuggled up among the throws with my notebook computer on my lap and pecked away at NaNo. I’d saved my working files to a memory stick as well as my word-count tracker, and was able to plug that into the notebook and work. I’m delighted to say I managed a very respectable 1,740 words.

Homework w/c 9 November 2016
It’s still NaNoWriMo until 30 November, so that’s pretty much what I’ll be doing every day. We hope to be at the Leeds Christmas market on Saturday, Birmingham on Sunday and Doncaster on Monday. In between, I have a new book in to proofread and I want to do more writing work on short stories. If it gets cold again, I’ll work on the notebook again. And the notebook will come with us to Birmingham so I can still do my NaNoWriMo while we’re there.

What are you up to this week?

2 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 9 November 2016

Leave a Reply

