Diary of a freelance writer: 28 September 2016

Okay, I seem to finally be back into a rhythm. Long may it last this time … It’s been a fair week with, erm, no unaccounted for faffing and most time-slots filled.

Wednesday 21 September 2016
On Wednesday, after, erm, faffing for much of the day swapping mobile phones, I did eventually write 539 words for a blog post and I cracked on with some editing for lovely-retainer-client.

At almost 2 years old, my phone had finally died and I had to dig out an old phone that still worked. I’ve gone from an android phone, which I love, to a windows phone, which I hate. Roll on 16 October when I can get a new android.

I’ve been with the same provider for many, many years (Three), but having looked at the phones they currently offer, I *am* considering changing. My android phone (the one that died but which I love) is a Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini, and the closest Samsung seem to do to that now is the A3, which I’ve seen in Curry’s, complete with full accessory set, but at £2 more than my current contract and with EE.  So I have some thinking to do between now and 16 October.

Thursday 22 September 2016
On Thursday I was expecting both a boiler man and a Sky man. The boiler man arrived at 11:40am and left at 12:20pm; the Sky man was 2 men who came at 2:00pm and stayed until 4:00pm. Normally, this would completely cock-up my day, but on Thursday, for a change, I didn’t let it.

For my daily admin period (1 hour today), I did the diary for next week, re-did the diary for this week, and did 2 lots of gig list admin.

For my daily study period (2 hours), I revised Tutorial 6 of the BCJ course and wrote 251 words and I printed off Tutorial 7. I also picked up a book I’ve been reading on how to write short stories. I’m on Number 3, but only got as far as the writing exercise, which I’m still percolating at the back of my mind.

For my daily writing period (2 hours), I went through my “keepers and chuckers” for Jan 2017 – Apri 2017, for the freelance writing side of my work. I know I’m a bit late for Jan – Mar, but I wanted to see if there was something I could come up with quite quickly. I kept 4 for myself, but here are my “throwaways” (“chuckers”):

  • 6 Jan: Epiphany (evergreen)
  • 1 Feb: partridge shooting begins (evergreen)
  • 15 Mar: the ides of March (evergreen)
  • 28 Mar 1977: breakfast telly started (40 years ago)
  • 8 Apr 2017: Grand National (changeable date-specific evergreen)
  • 14 Apr: first cuckoo day (evergreen)
  • 24 Apr 2017: Hocktide (changeable date-specific evergreen)

Let me know if you use any of them and what happened to them. 🙂

My daily editing period (2 hours) was a continuation of yesterday’s edit.

Friday 23 September 2016
On Friday I wrote 409 words for a blog post, I revised BCJ Tutorial 7 and wrote a whopping 9 words (they all count!), and I printed off Tutorials 8 and 9. Fridays are short days for me now, but I did finish the hard-copy edit for lovely-retainer-client.

Weekend
Our weekend was quite exciting.

On Saturday we drove down to Birmingham, dropped the dog off, continued on to Birmingham International Railway Station, and made it to London in time to see a matinee production of Wicked.

On the evening we went to a “meet the authors” event so I could finally meet my lovely-retainer-client who is usually based in Spain. I also met quite a few of the authors I’ve edited for them over the past few years. AND I had a chat with lovely-retainer-client who is interested to consider publishing any (ANY) of my books, and especially (ESPECIALLY!) *my* books. We had a chat about Catch the Rainbow and, well, I need to get it finished as he’s really very interested.

Sunday was the journey home, again via Birmingham to collect the dog and visit my parents.

Monday 26 September 2016
On Monday it was back to the real world and back to work. I wrote a 1,155-word review of Wicked  for the blog and then copied it over to the gig list reviews page … where I got stuck reformatting all sorts of vagaries that had crept in to the html coding. I did what I could for the latest reviews to tidy them up, but resorted to a quick fix for the rest of the page when I realised that time was, once again, running away with me.

I didn’t manage any study work today, as I ended up doing quite a lot of washing and other housework, as we’d been away for the weekend. I did, however, finish the electronic edit for lovely-retainer-client.

Tuesday 27 September 2016
Yesterday I revised Tutorial 8 of the BCJ course and wrote (another whopping) 13 words. Then I printed off the remaining 3 Tutorials, 10, 11 and 12 (I’d already printed T9).

In the afternoon I wrote 1,236 words for Catch the Rainbow, I started a new edit – this one for lovely-already-boss – and I chased an outstanding invoice (boo!).

Yesterday evening we did our weekly shopping.

Homework w/c 28 September 2016
My homework for the coming week will mostly be daily writing towards Catch the Rainbow. I intend to finish my revision work for the BCJ course and crack on with the next assignment that’s due. Any down or breather time from Catch the Rainbow will be short material, either work already started or the date-related ideas I came up with on Thursday. I have this edit to finish for lovely-already-boss and the next one to start for lovely-retainer-client.

What are you up to this week?

Note: This “diary” is now a year old. The intention was to complete it for 12 months and then decide whether or not to publish it as a memoir. I’ve actually found it very useful to keep track of what I’m doing, what I’ve been up to, what I should be doing, and where I’ve been faffing or time-wasting. If you are enjoying the diary, then do let me know. I think I’m going to continue with it as it’s so useful. But if there’s anything else you’d like to see then, again, do let me know. Ta. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 28 September 2016

  1. carolwarham says:

    The diary works well for me and certainly seems to work well for you. Fantastic news on your books – get writing that Catch the Rainbow.
    I’ve never heard of Hocktide – sounds Scottish?
    I’m off tomorrow on a 10 day Danube cruise – really looking forward to it and the notebook and pen is packed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

