Diary of a freelance writer: 14 September 2016

Wahey! I made it in on time again! 😀

I’ve not done much actual writing this past week, but I have done a lot of organising and arranging and getting back into the swing of things. And I’ve been busy the whole time, no malingering or skiving.

Wednesday 7 September 2016
On Wednesday I thought about rebooting my study work. I have so many courses I’ve not finished, and so many jobs – if I want them – seem to want a degree now, which I don’t have. I’ve paid out money for these courses, or had money spent on them for me, and I think I’d like to complete at least one of them, if not all of them.

So, on Wednesday I contacted the Open University to see what I need to do to complete my degree with them. I started a BA (Honours) in Art and Humanities, but that was back in 2000. I financed the first 70 points myself, and the company I worked for also financed a further 60 points. But as the degree I initially signed up for comes to an end next year. I needed to see if those existing 130 credits counted towards what it’s been replaced with. I set the ball in motion and awaited their replies.

I also continued with an edit for lovely-retainer-boss.

Thursday 8 September 2016
On Thursday I wrote last Wednesday’s blog post and pretended it was the day before. That netted me 603 words towards the monthly word-count target. I also did gig list admin and remembered to schedule the Monday morning post this time.

Friday 9 September 2016
On Friday I finished the current edit for lovely-retainer-boss and invoiced for that one and one I finished earlier in the week too. (Hurrah!)

Weekend
At the weekend we did some running around with/for parents, and Saturday evening Monkey Dust had a particularly bostin gig in Doncaster. The poet also spent time emptying a couple of boxes and organising my office supplies in a cupboard.

Monday 12 September 2016
On Monday morning, I received the first confirmation from the OU that they were going to look at transferring my existing qualifications to the new version degree. I wrote a quick 278 words for the lifestyle blog and I rebooted 3 of my writing courses:

  • The British College of Journalism, Professional Freelance Journalism Course (BCJ)
  • Writers Bureau, Fiction Writing Course (WB)
  • 5 in 10: Create Five Short Stories in Ten Weeks by Devon Ellington (5 in 10)

I went to find an empty ring binder to keep the BCJ and 5 in 10 courses together, but although I found a nice shocking pink one, it soon became clear that this wouldn’t be big enough. I printed off the first BCJ tutorial for revision, wrote 430 words, revised “week 1” of 5 in 10, and I studied module 8 of the WB course. I printed off Tutorial 2 of the BCJ course for study tomorrow.

Monday was very much a “me” day with me not doing any editing work for anyone else.

Tuesday 13 September 2016
By yesterday I was “back in the saddle” for the freelance writing, catching up with date work and writing a massive 132 words of notes! I picked up Tales From Baggins Bottom Best Bits Book Two and started to edit it in preparation for its republication on CreateSpace. I’ve decided to use Lulu for hard-backed books, CreateSpace for paperbacks, and Kindle and Smashwords for ebooks. Hard-backed large-print will be with Lulu, paperback large-print will be with CreateSpace.

In the afternoon, I completed module 9 of the WB course and Tutorial 2 of the BCJ course, writing 75 words for the latter. I printed off Tutorial 3 of the BCJ course for study tomorrow.

I started a new edit for lovely-retainer-boss.

Yesterday evening, we went shopping, and I bought a shiny new lever-arch folder for the BCJ course, shocking pink again. I was going to buy some subject dividers too, but during his clear-out at the weekend, the poet had found some unused subject dividers. So I utilised those instead.

Homework w/c 14 September 2016
It’s a busy week ahead for me, then, with 3 writing courses to continue with and a book to finish preparing for republication.

What are you up to this week?

2 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 14 September 2016

Leave a Reply

