Diary of a freelance writer: 7 September 2016

I’m a day late again, but I’m going to pretend I’m writing this yesterday.

We’ve had another traumatic week, but hopefully we’ve turned the corner now.

Wednesday 31 August 2016
It was all going so well … I’d managed to write another 1,309-word blog post, which is quite good on recent standards, and I’d settled in to do some editing work for lovely-retainer-client when … BAM … the poet was admitted to hospital. He’d taken ill at work and come home early, then on the way home from work he took ill again … and again when he got home. So he was taken to Casualty and admitted to hospital for observation.

Thursday 1 September 2016
In between taking stuff to the hospital and visiting, the only work I managed on Thursday was essential gig list admin. I forgot to schedule the Monday morning post asking for gigs, but the gig list was posted and the poet was allowed home overnight, for one night only, so he could attend his dad’s funeral Friday morning.

Friday 2 September 2016
On Friday it was the funeral, so I didn’t do much work. And at teatime I had to get the poet back to hospital …

Weekend
… where he remained for the entire weekend. On Sunday afternoon, his mom, daughter and granddaughter were able to visit him with me.

Monday 5 September 2016
I managed some work Monday morning. I did the Monday morning post I’d forgotten to schedule for the gig list and I completed a hard copy edit for lovely-retainer-boss at the hospital while we waited for the poet to be discharged. His tests had all come back negative, with just one or two little things they wanted to look at in more depth in the future, but nothing they were worried about. It took them FOUR hours to discharge him, and he didn’t even need to wait for any medication from the pharmacy.

Tuesday 6 September 2016
Almost back to normal, but with the poet at home until next Monday, I was able to get some more work done. Because I’d fallen quite far behind on the retainer editing, due to the massive, horrendous edit I delivered the previous week, I wanted to concentrate on catching up there. So I did the electronic edit of the one book I’d finished the night before, and I printed off the next one for a hard copy edit to start tomorrow.

In the afternoon we were able to go and buy some much-needed shopping.

Homework w/c 7 September 2016
So … I want to carry on this week catching up on any editing work for lovely-retainer-client, and I have another to start for lovely-already-boss. Then, next week, I want to allocate time to my writing again. And to my study.

I’m toying with continuing with my Open University studies at some point, but I can’t enrol before February. I’d like to apply for a grant/loan and it can take several weeks to be accepted, but also, I’m waiting for the OU to let me know if my existing credits with them can still go towards one of their new BAs, as the two I started both finish at the end of next year.

In the meantime, I’m going to finish my fiction writing course. I also got in touch with the British College of Journalism to see if I can complete my article-writing course with them too. The last time I contacted them was in 2011, but they have very gracefully agreed to let me do my last two assignments with them, but they would like me to complete the course, if I can, within six months.

What are you up to this week?

4 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 7 September 2016

  1. carolwarham says:

    Heavens what an awful week. Big hugs to both of you – gentle ones for Ian! Hope he’s feeling much better. I also hope the funeral went as well as these things can. Have a relaxing and re-charging weekend.
    I’m off to Keswick this morning, just Sam and I. Writing, reading, walking, booked the theatre twice and a coffee and cake catch up with Sue M and Diane M. It will be the first time I’ve been in nearly 12 months. We had some one living in the flat who had been flooded out of their own home. Take care and lots of love.

    Like

    • Diane says:

      Thank you! He’s fine now, just taking it a bit easier than usual.
      Have a lovely time in Keswick. Say hi to Sue an Diane for me. I hope there’s not too much mud left lying around after the floods!

      Like

Leave a Reply

