Diary of a freelance writer: 17 August 2016

Well! There’s nothing like a holiday to make you come back to work refreshed and raring to go. It’s been a very busy week since my last diary post, and there have even been extra blog posts. I also crashed through the 20,000-word mark for CATCH THE RAINBOW (did you see the word meter in the side bar?)

Wednesday 10 August 2016
My day is now very clearly split between “my time” and “retainer time”, and during my time I created my new monthly tracker spreadsheet (it was a week late) and I wrote 1,166 words for a blog post.

In the afternoon I finished the editing work I’d started before we went on holiday.

Thursday 11 August 2016
On Thursday, in the morning I downloaded and applied a Scrivener update, I did some gig list admin, and I wrote 642 words for CATCH THE RAINBOW.

In the afternoon, I created a book schedule for lovely-retainer-boss, so we both know we both know what books I have, and I started to play with a sort-of online T-card system the poet had found for me, Trello.

Friday 12 August 2016
On Friday I wrote 2 blog posts, one of 594 words and the other of 296 words. I raised some invoices. (Hurrah!) And then I wrote 673 words for CATCH THE RAINBOW.

Weekend
Apart from a quick visit to see one lot of parents on Saturday, the weekend was spent chilling, dossing, gardening, baking, and basically doing diddley squat. We don’t often get a weekend off, and when we do, we’re still mega-busy.

Monday 15 August 2016
The new week dawned with another 2 blog posts, one of 433 words and the other of 368 words. I raised another invoice. (Hurrah!) And I wrote a massive 1,369 words for CATCH THE RAINBOW cold, i.e. without even an outline.

In the afternoon I tried to edit a book, but it had somehow become corrupted. We’re trying to sort this out as best as we can between us.

Tuesday 16 August 2016
On Tuesday, yesterday, I wrote 453 words for the blog and 323 words for CATCH THE RAINBOW – these words, despite having notes and an outline, didn’t come as easily as the 1,369 of the previous day … food for thought.

In the afternoon I started a work-around on the corrupted edit.

Homework w/c 17 August 2016
This coming week I want to crack on a lot more with CATCH THE RAINBOW. I also want to carry on with the corrupted edit as there are 4 more books to do after that one.

Beyond that, it’s more of the same really.

What are you up to this week?

2 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 17 August 2016

  1. carolwarham says:

    I’m giving serious thought to the second book now and thinking of going back to some short story writing. However just now I’m on the readers panel for the Romance Novel of the Year and have 5 books to read in 6 weeks. Plus, I’ve been judging short stories for the Hysteria competition. It’s a lot of reading! It has been a huge learning curve though, I’m seeing what works and what doesn’t, ‘reading as a writer’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

