Diary of a freelance writer: 8 June 2016

Still catching up for the missing weeks of the diary …

Wednesday 1 June 2016
Today was the day I was going to leave my work at a place I could leave it. I’d told Sky I needed the internet that day, and they assured me it wouldn’t be switched off until that evening. So I lined up all of my jobs … and yes, you’ve guessed it. They’d already switched me off. This was so annoying, when I’d especially asked them not to.

Fortunately, I was able to print out a new client job that had already been sent over and saved (yes, I get into the habit of doing that immediately now, and let the client know I’ve grabbed it safely). But, apart from that, there wasn’t a lot else I could do.

So I packed. And Wednesday evening we took the “office” over to the new house.

Thursday 2 June 2016
We’d asked Sky for a 1pm – 6pm visit to install broadband and the telephone, but when I checked on the mobile phone the previous night, they had us booked in for 8am – 6pm. This meant I had to get up super early to make sure I was at the new place when the engineer called. I unpacked a few things, did some editing work, and waited.

The phone was already switched on, so that was something. So I called Sky up and they said the engineer was definitely down for visiting between 1pm and 6pm. So I pootled and faffed a bit more. By 4pm there was no sign, so I called Sky again, and when he checked – Ta-da! Apparently the engineer had visited and everything was up and working …

… and people wonder why I often think I’m going mad.

I hadn’t seen a soul. All Day. And my internet most definitely wasn’t working, although the mobile phone could see it and it was a very strong signal.

So after about 20 minutes of trying switching things off and on again and the person at the other end calling me back so he could test the line, he finally suggested I try connecting the new modem, which Sky had sent and told me to hand over to the television engineer when he comes on 11 June. The lovely chap noticed that we’d been switched to fibre optic and perhaps our old modem wouldn’t work with that.

He talked me through it, and I switched it on and … Ta-da! Lo, we had internet!

The engineer had clearly got as far as the little exchange box at the top of the main street and not thought it necessary to actually come and see me.

And by the end of the day, i.e. when it was too late for me to do anything of any significance, my office was indeed up and running at the new house – and that meant I had to get up and “drive to work” every day from now onwards.

The only job I had time to do before going home to have tea with the poet so he could go to band practice was a very meagre gig list.

Friday 3 June 2016
I had appointments all day on Friday but was able to nip to the new house and do a little admin for the gig list before the first one, which was in Sheffield. Then I went to Meadowhall to indulge in a spot of retail therapy – after the week I’d had, I felt I deserved it. And from there I went straight to a hair appointment in Barnsley. And then I did some shopping and met the poet at the new house, where we spent much of the evening sorting things out.

Weekend
Saturday day was spent out and about, shopping for supplies, fetching things from one house and taking them to the other. And on the evening the poet had a gig. Sunday was spent visiting the parents in both Doncaster and Birmingham.

Monday 6 June 2016
Monday was my first proper day “driving to work” and spending the day with the dog at the new house. I had the big editing job to clear by the end of the week, so much of the time was spent doing that – and it was a biggie at almost 100,000 words. I also got back into the swing of the daily admin jobs, but started to streamline the things like “daily competitions” and “daily surveys”. I only really have 2 hours a day to spare for both of these things, and while one does win us prizes and the other does earn money, it’s not my primary reason for working from home.

Tuesday 7 June 2016
Tuesday was more of the same, and again I didn’t manage any writing. But the Kindles are all synchronised with “work” books to read, so I did manage a lot of that.

Homework w/c 8 June 2016
Again, I’m not going to include any homework for this particular post as it’s also already gone and I still know what I didn’t do.

This week’s should be up tomorrow … she said, hopefully. 🙂

One thought on “Diary of a freelance writer: 8 June 2016

Leave a Reply

