Diary of a freelance writer: 11 May 2016

Wow, looks like I made it in on time this week!

Things have eased off this past week. The poet starts his new job today and we found a house. So that means I have my office and my schedule back again – although I do have a dentist appointment this afternoon … 😦  The house is eerily quiet without him … and I have to make my own lunch!

So I’m slowly getting back into the swing of things, and here’s how the past week went.

Wednesday 4 May 2016
On Wednesday I wrote 761 words for a blog post and I did all the usual admin work, including surveys, daily competitions, and so on. Extra work this week, however, included catching up on the washing after our weekend away camping.

I also had a dentist appointment.

Thursday 5 May 2016
On Thursday, it was all admin and laundry again before going shopping – for our weekly groceries and some camping equipment. I did manage an extra blog, though, and I wrote 709 words.

Friday 6 May 2016
On Friday the poet had a second interview for a job in Rotherham, and he was made an offer before even getting back into his car – which he accepted. When he was given a start date of Wednesday (i.e. today) he had mixed emotions – first of all he was delighted and over the moon and glad to cancel all other job-search-related appointments, but then he said he’d rather have had a little more time at home. However, as we’ve also been forced into house-hunting, it was important he get back to work as soon as possible for the credit checks and references, etc.

I wrote a very short blog post of only 71 words.

Weekend
Much of the weekend consisted of family time and chill time.

Monday 9 May 2016
Monday was a house-hunting day. We had second viewings on 2 properties, but plumped for the one in the middle of nowhere that comes with local fishing rights, more farm animals and, erm, peacocks …

Tuesday 10 May 2016
Tuesday was mostly new house and new job admin and appointments, but I also managed another blog post of 316 words – perhaps I’m getting back into the swing of things.

Homework w/c 11 May 2016
I’m not doing a list this week because it hasn’t changed at all since last week. I do, however, have a dentist appointment today (as already mentioned), and I’m mostly catching up with getting back in the swing of work.

We have complimentary press passes for a gig in Wakefield tonight and I have press releases to do for the pro-bono project that climaxes this coming weekend.

I also have a lovely new book in from lovely-already-boss (fresh off his holidays) to edit, and another to proofread for him.

What are you up to this week?

2 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 11 May 2016

  1. caro lwarham says:

    #groan# still editing. It seems to be taking forever. However delighted with all the good news. I have to say when the Wordsworths decide to do something, they do it in style…peacocks in the garden! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

