Diary of a freelance writer: 4 May 2016

Yes, yes, yes – I skipped a week again. But we were on holiday over the May Day weekend, and it was our first wedding anniversary. So another post that’s also catching up.

Wednesday 20 April 2016
On Wednesday I wrote 351 words for a blog post and I did all the usual admin work, including surveys, daily competitions, etc, etc, etc. However, I also had an x-ray appointment at 1pm (long-term arthritis in back check-up), and I had an optician’s appointment at 3pm (my usual 2-yearly appointment). I finished the day with a brand new prescription for both reading and distance glasses.

Thursday 21 April 2016
There is nothing in my diary for Thursday 21 April beyond the usual admin work – surveys, competitions, gig list admin, diary work, job search, etc. The poet did have a band practice on the evening, though. But I think I stayed home for that one.

Friday 15 April 2016
On Friday the story is pretty much the same, I’m afraid. But I did have a hair appointment at 3:30pm.

Weekend
That weekend, Monkey Dust had a gig in Upton on Saturday evening, and we spent Sunday in Birmingham for my parents’ 62nd wedding anniversary and my mom’s 82nd birthday.

Monday 25 April 2016
Monday was a house-hunting day and a day for gig list admin.

Tuesday 26 April 2016
On Tuesday, once the daily admin jobs were done, the rest of the day was spent at an appointment in Barnsley and in me researching, writing and sending press releases for the pro-bono project that happens this month. I wrote 241 words for this.

Wednesday 27 April 2016
Wednesday was another house-hunting day with several viewings booked in. I had a mare of a toothache, though, and managed to get an emergency dentist appointment for 2:50pm. He gave me some antibiotics and told me to come back again next Wednesday. The pain was so bad, we almost cancelled our weekend away. But we left it to Friday morning to make the final decision.

Thursday 28 April 2016
On Thursday, I did more gig list admin, went to the optician to collect my new glasses, and then prepared and packed for our weekend away.

On Thursday evening we went to see the Harlem Globetrotters in Sheffield. I won the tickets in a competition, and we had a great time.

Friday 29 April 2016
On Friday we made the decision to go on holiday and headed off to Bala in Wales for a 4-night camping trip. I was already starting to feel better and didn’t want to wake up Saturday morning wishing we’d gone the day before, and so waste the day travelling. Friday evening was FREEZING, though, and we even had SNOW!

Weekend
The weather gradually grew warmer and on Sunday, 1 May, we celebrated our first wedding anniversary under canvas. The tablets had worked their magic, but I did have a gum-boil burst while I was in a shop ordering a sandwich … I really hoped I wasn’t dribbling!

Monday 2 May 2016
Bank holiday Monday was our last full day in Bala and the weather had certainly started to improve a lot.

Tuesday 3 May 2016
On Tuesday, we came home. We were promised fine weather for decamping, but the only 2 showers for the whole of that morning happened while we were un-pegging the tent! We’d had a lovely time, though, and certainly recharged our batteries.

As soon as we got home and unpacked the car, the poet chose and booked our next venture – Eskdale at Whitsun.

I made a decision to finish Catch the Rainbow by the end of September 2016. This is mostly because a crime-writing workshop I was attending at the end of May has been moved to the beginning of October and I’d like to be in a position to start something new for that at the same time. This means I have around 50,000 words to write in 5 months, as I already have about 25,000 words written. The objective will be to write one day, type it into Scrivener the next day as revision/part editing, then be warmed up sufficiently to carry on writing that same day, and so on.

My target word-count per month, then, is 10,000 words for Catch the Rainbow, and 5,000 words on short material.

Homework w/c 4 May 2016
Looking a lot like the last list … here is a not-even-slightly-updated to-do list for the coming week:

  • think/query/write/submit Nov/Oct/Sep/Aug
  • #2 short story – THE MYSTERY OF WOOLLEY DAM (draft 2)
  • #3 short story – SHAKING THE TREE (draft 3 – 1st typed draft)
  • continue editing BAGGINS BOTTOM BEST BITS BOOK 3
  • continue transferring to Scrivener CATCH THE RAINBOW

And I STILL still have to reinstall those word-count meters …

What have you been up to this week?

4 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 4 May 2016

  1. caro lwarham says:

    You’re forgiven for disappearing as it was your wedding anniversary. Sounds like you had a good few days. I assume there will be photos at some point? Me? You can read my new blog to see what I’ve been up to! 🙂 Really it’s more of the same…editing. Hey ho. Hope this week is turning into a good one for you.

    Like

    • Diane says:

      There will be pictures – lots of pictures. But they’ll be on FB and Baggins Bottom.

      I must link to your blog. Don’t let me forget!

      Like

  2. Alison Runham says:

    House hunting? Have I missed something? *Does meerkat impression* 🙂 I’m glad you managed to get away fro your anniversary, although it seems unbelievable it’s been a year already – where did that go?!
    I’m just enjoying a more chilled week and admiring the results of the DIY. I’m also reflecting on my work in school and wondering if I should give it the old heave-ho at the end of the academic year. I certainly don’t want to increase my hours – the last few weeks have made that far less tempting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

