Diary of a freelance writer: 20 April 2016

Wahey! I seem to have made it on time this week! And what a busy week.

Wednesday 13 April 2016
On Wednesday I was back in the hot seat, trying to catch up with everything I’ve let slip. I wrote several blog posts, I did some band admin for Monkey Dust, and I edited a chapter of Baggins Bottom Best Bits Book 3.

Thursday 14 April 2016
On Thursday morning I pitched for a job and by the afternoon I’d won it. I wrote 1,059 words for a draft of a new short story. I did some gig list admin, and I completed the hard copy edit of a client’s book. On Thursday evening the poet had band practice, so I did the shopping then.

Friday 15 April 2016
On Friday I completed the job I’d won the day before (it was a very short children’s book) and I started the electronic edit of the client’s book.

Weekend
On Saturday, I completed the electronic edit of the client’s book. I don’t often work at the weekend, but I wanted this one of the desk so I could invoice for it. The poet’s band had a gig over in Doncaster Saturday evening.

On Sunday we visited the outlaws, and we went for a very short walk.

Monday 18 April 2016
First job today was to submit the book I’d finished on Saturday and get the invoice sent off. I wrote another short blog post and spent the rest of the day doing gig list admin, band admin and admin-admin.

Tuesday 19 April 2016
Yesterday we were busy having meetings and appointments again, but I did some job searching and pegged 10 jobs for further investigation.

Homework w/c 20 April 2016
I still have a lot of work to do that I didn’t manage last week. So here is a slightly updated to-do list for the coming week:

  • think/query/write/submit Nov/Oct/Sep/Aug
  • #2 short story – THE MYSTERY OF WOOLLEY DAM (draft 2)
  • #3 short story – SHAKING THE TREE (draft 3 – 1st typed draft)
  • continue editing BAGGINS BOTTOM BEST BITS BOOK 3
  • continue transferring to Scrivener CATCH THE RAINBOW

And I still have to reinstall those word-count meters …

What have you been up to this week?

2 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 20 April 2016

  1. caro lwarham says:

    Editing, editing, editing and oh…more editing! Its a bit long and drawn out at I can only fit time in between other commitments. Also I am going through the ms with a fine tooth comb!
    Darn it…maybe I should try a pen! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

