Diary of a freelance writer: 16 March 2016

So I took a deep breath, grabbed last week by the scruff of its neck and gave it a good kick up the bum. Things are nowhere near as settled as they were a few weeks ago yet, but we’re getting there.

Wednesday 9 March 2016
Last Wednesday started with the usual admin morning. I didn’t even look at the filing, but I did at least write 1,054 words on one project.

We had a meeting on Wednesday evening for the pro-bono project, and we managed some more visiting.

Oh yes, and it was my birthday, but we didn’t do anything for that.

Thursday 10 March 2016
Thursday started pretty much the same, I completed all of my admin chores (apart from the filing), then the rest of the day consisted of various meetings in town. We did a bit of shopping, then the poet went to band practice while I tried to catch up on some work.

Friday 11 March 2016
On Friday afternoon I had a hair appointment, so the rest of the day revolved around that. During the evening I managed to write 867 words on the 2nd draft of a long short story, which is a sequel to one I had published in a magazine (and in Twee Tales) quite some years ago, but by popular demand.

Weekend
The weekend consisted mostly of visiting members of the family. I wrote another 704 words for the short story and on Sunday we went on a very short walk in a bid to start breaking in my new boots, which were a birthday present from the poet.

Monday 14 March 2016
I was back at my desk Monday morning and once again did all of my admin (apart from the filing …). I wrote 1,571 words, and finished the long short story. I could have gone straight into the next one on the list, but I was feeling a bit drained, so instead I did some more work on the pro-bono project.

Tuesday 15 March 2016
Tuesday meant another meeting in town and I didn’t do any writing work.  All the admin was done again first, though (apart from the filing …).

Homework w/c 16 March 2016
I have another short story draft 1 to write, then I hop back and write drafts 2 and 3 of stories written last week. One of these will be draft 3, which is the first typed draft. I also want to get some study in on the fiction writing course.

ALCS payments are due this Friday. (Hurrah!)

I only have 2 throwaways this week, for September:

  • on 7 September they have an annual horn dance in Abbot’s Bromley in Staffordshire
  • on 10 September it’s the Sheriff’s ride in Lichfield

What do these 2 things inspire you to write or find out? Do you want to write a short story or an article?

  • What else happens in Abbot’s Bromley in Staffordshire? Where is it? What happens at the annual horn dance? Could this be a travel article or an article about similar customs in the same area? Can you interview one of the dancers?
  • Can you think of a travel article for Lichfield? Or can you write a short story inspired by the sheriff or his ride?

Don’t forget to let me know how you get on if you decided to go for either of these ideas.

2 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 16 March 2016

  1. caro lwarham says:

    Plenty of writing getting done. I’m curious as to the sequel to the Twee Tales story, which one?
    The editing/rewriting is going painfully, painfully slowly. Some days have been lost to granddaughter having been ill and off school, therefore with me, now I’m coughing and spluttering all over the place. 😦 Hey ho. The days are getting longer, the daffodils, crocus and snowdrops are cheerful about the place, it’s getting better. 🙂

    Like

    • Diane says:

      It’s the Spirit of the Wind in Twee Tales. The new one is currently called Shaking the Tree, but that has plenty of time to change yet.

      Hope the cold doesn’t come to much. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

