Diary of a freelance writer: 24 February 2016

It’s not been a great week. We’ve been busy with one thing or another that isn’t really for sharing. And my days have been spent recharging, I suppose. I need to sort myself out, though, give myself another kick up the bum. Because too busy to work doesn’t earn the pennies.

Wednesday 17 February 2016
Last Wednesday I was taking my dad home after a short stay with us. So that wiped out the entire day.

Thursday 18 February 2016
Thursday was better. Again. I did gig list admin (again), and I wrote 869 words of blog posts.

In the afternoon, I did some survey work, some pro-bono work and some diary work.

Friday 19 February 2016
On Friday I did a little editing work but I did more survey work too as it’s quick and easy money.

Weekend
At the weekend we had a gig Saturday night and we were visiting Sunday morning. But Sunday afternoon, on our way home, we managed to squeeze in a short walk.

Monday 22 February 2016
Monday was pretty much the same as most days. I’d already pre-scheduled the gig list work on Thursday, and that posted automatically. I must make a habit of that because it saves time on a Monday, when I’m busy after the weekend, and I don’t have to worry about making it my first job.

We had yet more visiting to do Monday evening.

Tuesday 23 February 2016
Tuesday was the same as Monday with me doing little odds and sods around the office, but we were glad to have a day off from having to do things for other people.

Homework w/c 24 February 2016
My office is a mess – a terrible mess – and not how I like to work at all. So first job this week will be to start to sort out the filing. I want to swap the drawers over, so that the alpha-filing is closer to hand and the old brought-forward system is further away. I don’t even use the b/f system any more, and don’t really know anyone else who does. (Do you?) So that drawer will eventually be changed to over-spill, or continuation of the alpha-drawer.

I have a book that needs editing, so that I can get it back to the client. And I have 2 books from the same client that need proofreading. I need to really crack on with this.

I want to write a short story for fave market, I want to write a short story for a new (to me) market, I want to do my next fiction writing course assignment, and I’d like to come up with a story for one of the calls for submissions doing the rounds.

Meantime, I have the poet’s birthday on Friday and a very busy weekend ahead as son #2 + g/f are coming for the weekend and we’re hopefully going walking on Sunday.

What are you up to this week?

4 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 24 February 2016

  1. Alison Runham says:

    If it’s any consolation, my office is a mess too – and as it’s got to be a temporary bedroom for two small boys over the weekend, I really should be tidying it. Or writing, so that I can tidy it tomorrow. Neither of which I am the least bit inclined to do!
    Hope next week is calmer and more successful for you.

    Like

    • Diane says:

      The tidying consisted of sorting out the filing and the piles of papers. Now there are just 2 piles of filing, tucked neatly away in a drawer. The Feng Shui is already better.

      Like

    • Diane says:

      Yes, my decisions have been made now. It’s another big step, but if I up my own work at the same time as reducing the time-intensive private client work (i.e. trawling for work then numerous pointless emails then chasing for payment, etc), then the impact should be easier to absorb.

      Like

Leave a Reply

