Diary of a freelance writer: 17 February 2016

So here I am, a day late again. This time it’s because we had a guest and I was taking him home yesterday. But it has been another hectic, busy week with our usual routine slightly different.

Wednesday 10 February 2016
Today – and for much of the rest of the week really – the only job I really did was the heavy editing job. I didn’t manage any of my daily admin stuff either, or very much housework.

Thursday 11 February 2016
Thursday was better. I did gig list admin, I wrote 677 words of blog posts, and I wrote 176 words of short story planning. I’ve come up with an entire outline for one short story and the bones of an idea of another short story.

In the afternoon, I did more of the heavy edit and managed to finally finish the hard copy edit.

Friday 12 February 2016
Friday was just half a day for me as I had to go and collect my dad, who was coming to stay for a few days. I managed a few hours on the electronic edit, went off to collect him, then did another few hours in the evening. I didn’t do anything else on Friday.

Weekend
We had snow forecast on Saturday, and for almost every day next week, and I had just a chill day, although I did do a few more hours on the heavy edit.

On Sunday we went visiting, and I did some more hours on the heavy edit … (sigh)

The snow never came.

Monday 15 February 2016
At 9am, I sat down at my desk and I continued with the electronic edit. I paused for a banana, for lunch, for a cup of tea and for tea. But I carried on until, at 8:45pm, I finally finished the work and was able to send off the invoice. (Hurrah!)

The snow never came.

Tuesday 16 February 2016
It was a bit of an easy day on Tuesday. I always seem to need to recharge after finishing a particularly big job. I did, however, do some pro-bono work. I caught up on some of my admin work. And I started a new edit. I also printed off Mardi Gras, which was my 2015 NaNoWriMo project. It needs development.

The snow never came …

Homework w/c 17 February 2016
On Wednesday I was due to take my dad back home again, so not a lot would get done then. We also had a meeting booked for the pro-bono project.

Aside from that, the plan for the coming week is to catch up on everything didn’t manage to do while (a) I was doing that heavy edit, and (b) my dad was here.

I have the new edit to continue with. I have that outlined short story to maybe draft out. I have Mardi Gras to sit and work though.

And I’m still watching for snow.

What are you up to this week?

Leave a Reply

