Diary of a freelance writer: 10 February 2016

And despite my best efforts, I still failed to come in and post the diary yesterday … Saying that, though, I didn’t even switch the computer on I was that busy. So here we are again, a day late again – but at least it’s not as late as the last one.

Wednesday 3 February 2016
On Wednesday I worked on 2 more republications – the paperback version of the new Night Crawler: a Marcie Craig mystery, and the re-issue of Twee Tales with the new byline. This means that the original Twee Tales paperback will also be retired, just as soon as I’m happy with the cover. The 2 old versions of Night Crawler (paperback and hardback) have already been retired.

The rest of the day was spent on the big client edit I have in and an email off to the client warning them that it’s a bigger job than I thought and that it will take a little longer than originally promised.

I had to knock off work early and take the dog to the vet to be chipped and to have his ears looked at. He has an infection in one of them and I wanted some antibiotic ointment for him.

Thursday 4 February 2016
Thursday morning was mostly admin – gig list admin, daily competitions, daily surveys.

The afternoon was a continuation of the hard-copy client edit.

The poet had band practice Thursday evening, so I dropped him off, went to do the shopping, then collected him again.

Friday 5 February 2016
Again, Friday morning was daily competitions and daily surveys (the surveys I get paid for and am quite enjoying them). And the rest of the day was more of that big edit.

Weekend
Saturday was a do-diddle-day, and Sunday was a walk/research day to Tetney Lock near Cleethorpes for a 4-mile walk.

Monday 8 February 2016
On Monday morning I did some more admin work, gig list admin, daily competitions, daily surveys and I updated the diary.

Then I wrote 793 words – not a lot but with a week almost of admin, publishing and editing, it was nice to get some words written.

The afternoon was spent doing more hard-copy client editing – I did warn them it was a bigger job than I originally thought.

Tuesday 9 February 2016
I have some pro-bono work I need to catch up but just haven’t had chance to fit any in. It was booked in for Tuesday, but I just did more editing as I want to get that job shifted and invoiced.

Aside from admin stuff, I did also manage another 685 words on a blog post.

Homework w/c 10 February 2016
I suppose my main objective this week is to catch up on work and get back into my schedule. I need to finish that client edit then I have another client edit to start.

I have that pro-bono work to catch up with and I think we have a meeting next Wednesday evening.

And I’m currently percolating 2 short stories – 1 is planned out, the other has the main character, who just happens to be one of Marcie Craig’s neighbours, but that’s all so far.

I have the diary to do for the coming week. That should give me more idea of if I’ll catch up with the schedule or not.

Also, I’m not happy with the cover for the new Twee Tales, so I have to choose another picture for that. The paperback of the new Night Crawler is ready to go, though, and I also have copies of books to send off for legal deposit.

Finally, my dad’s coming for a few days, so I don’t want to be solidly busy while he’s here.

What are you up to this week?

Leave a Reply

