Diary of a freelance writer: 3 February 2016

What a very busy week I had last week, publishing a new book on Tuesday and then sending another 2 paperbacks off to print. Sorry for not doing this last week. I’ll do last week’s today, then this week’s on Wednesday.

Wednesday 27 January 2016
Wednesday was an ordinary writing day, where I wrote 600 words on 2 projects and then spent much of the day doing admin or “thinking” about writing.

Thursday 28 January 2016
Thursday morning I did more admin work, for the gig list, for the diary. I wrote 294 words, and I printed off a new editing job.

A hair appointment shortened the day a little, so I didn’t do as much of the editing as I hoped I would.

Friday 23 January 2016
On Friday I did more admin but I cracked on with the editing job, as I’d like the money before the end of the month if possible.

A dental appointment mid-afternoon broke the day in 2, and I didn’t do much else when I came back, other than reading work.

Weekend
On Saturday we visited my parents and on the way home we stopped off at Kingsbury Water Park for our weekly walk. On Sunday it was the poet’s mother’s birthday, so we popped over to see his parents and did our shopping on the way back. We didn’t do much else research/writing-wise.

Monday 1 February 2016
Monday consisted mostly of new month admin. I fell short of my 20,000-word writing target by more than 5,000 words, due mostly to the editing work I’ve been doing. But I set my new month’s writing target at 21,000 words and hope to do much better this time.

First job of the day was gig list admin, then I wrote 319 words for a blog post. In the afternoon I finished a short story and sent it off to market, adding another 1,400 words to the target.

Once that had gone, I did more work on the editing job and received a new job in from lovely-already-boss.

Tuesday 2 February 2016
Tuesday was a very exciting day as my first novel, Night Crawler, by Diane Parkin was repackaged and republished as Night Crawler: a Marcie Craig mystery by Diane Wordsworth. And Tuesday was publication day. This took up most of the day, with the associated press and PR work that goes with it. I still have to update my “buy my books” pages, but both blogs, Facebook and the website were all updated with the new book.

I wrote 924 words over both blogs and the news page on the website, and I continued with the edit.

Homework w/c 3 February 2016
The new week was to begin with more publishing work, sorting out 2 more books to be republished and repackaged as paperbacks.

I had that big edit to finish and the new edit to start, plus proofreading of another client project.

I also want to do more on the fiction writing course.

What are you up to this week?

Leave a Reply

