Diary of a freelance writer: 27 January 2016

It’s been a bitty week with a jolly in the middle of it and getting distracted by other stuff, but it’s been okay.

Wednesday 20 January 2016
Wednesday started early as I had to run the poet to the railway station. He was off to Scotland for 2 days on business and I usually take him for his train.

Instead of going back to bed, I bumbled through the first part of the morning before warming up and writing a 538-word blog post, plus 41 words over on another blog. (Every little helps …)

Then I browsed the job boards and pitched for 7 new editing or proofreading jobs.

Thursday 21 January 2016
Thursday was a day off in the end. I did my usual morning admin/gig list work, but then it was off for a jolly with Carol, this time over in her neck of the woods (which is, actually, only 15 minutes away …). She took me to a lovely little café in a place called Hepworth, near Holmfirth. And on either side of lunch I had a lovely play with Sam the dog.

At teatime I was back at the railway station to collect the poet.

Friday 22 January 2016
On Friday I wrote a 311-word blog post for me, then a 30-word blog post and a 136-word blog post for the pro-bono project. And I did some other social media admin for the pro-bono project.

In the afternoon I updated the Pen & Sword page on this blog – you can follow the link here – adding 12 new books. I also added 14 new books to ALCS (I get a percentage on books I’ve edited) and 1 article.

Weekend
On Saturday we managed a research day/day out, travelling slightly further afield to Ripon in North Yorkshire. On Sunday we had a mini-session in Wormy’s kitchen, making lime meringue pie to go with our roast chicken dinner.

Monday 25 January 2016
Monday morning started a little late and I almost forgot to post the gig list gig request for the weekend. I wrote a 770-word blog post and updated the diary for the coming week – something I usually do on the previous Thursday, but I was out jollying. 😀

In the afternoon, I cranked up Scrivener and typed in 1,257 words for Catch the Rainbow, and I chased an overdue acknowledgement.

Tuesday 26 January 2016
Tuesday looks a little empty as I refer to my diary, as I must have forgotten to fill it in. I know I didn’t write any words, though. But again, I did surf the job board and I pitched for another 7 jobs.

I registered with 5 survey sites for when I have real down time.

Homework w/c 27 January 2016
I want to do some more work with Scrivener on Catch the Rainbow, and I’m awaiting some blog posts to edit for a new client … although I’ve been waiting since before Christmas (he did send me an email yesterday evening to say they were on the way).

I want to move on with the next part of my fiction writing course and I want to look at the story that came back to see if I can get it out to fave market before the end of Friday.

I’m STILL still waiting for the new cover for the new version of Night Crawler: a Marcie Craig Mystery. It’s almost there now, but we won’t be meeting the  29 January deadline.

What are you up to this week?

4 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 27 January 2016

      • Lori says:

        I kept it off the Internet as much as possible. We were in Oxford and made it to Warwick (our farthest northern destination). So no chance of seeing you. However, we do have a summer trip to Scotland planned…. 😉

        Like

        • Diane says:

          I got the name of the storm wrong, I think. Don’t even know where I got Jonas from as we were still with Frank or someone.

          It looks as though you’re having a nice trip. We might be in Scotland too in the summer …

          So that’s 2 longhauls for you this year?

          Like

Leave a Reply

