Diary of a freelance writer: 20 January 2016

First of all I’d like to thank everyone who took the time to visit on Monday and welcome my first guest to the new blog, and special thanks go to all of those who also left a comment or a question. Hopefully, a guest interview will become a regular feature.

I didn’t do everything I wanted to last week – I didn’t start assignment 4 for the fiction writing course and I didn’t manage another short story. However, I did start to upload Catch the Rainbow to Scrivener, and I did finish the big editing job. So all was not lost.

Wednesday 13 January 2016
Most of Wednesday was taken up with the big edit, once the blogs were out of the way.

Thursday 14 January 2016
Ditto Thursday, although I did also do some gig list admin.

Friday 15 January 2016
Friday was much better. I wrote 670 words on one project, prepared Monday’s interview – with pictures and quotes and further information, etc – and I completed the big edit. But it did take much of the week to get that shifted.

Weekend
We didn’t get out for any research trips at the weekend. The poet wasn’t feeling very well, so we just did the shopping on Saturday, then visited the parents on Sunday. It was his mother’s birthday so we went there first before carrying on down to Birmingham.

Monday 18 January 2016
Monday was a good day too. I did the gig list admin and wrote 973 words on a project. Then spent much of the day learning specifics of Scrivener to help it work much better for me. I raised an invoice for the big job finished on Friday (hurrah!), and I broke the back of Catch the Rainbow with a massive 124 words!

Tuesday 19 January 2016
A chased payment that was due on 1 January finally hit my bank account yesterday. So I was able to order some much needed toner cartridges for the printer at last, and a case for my new Kindle Fire 7″.

I wrote 417 words on one project and I did a lot of work on the pro-bono project, sorting out logos, sponsor forms, emails and the like. We’re pretty much at the stage now where this setting-up work we did for them can be handed over to one of the other volunteers to manage. Ideally, I’d just like to do any press work.

Having cracked (for now) what I needed to know about Scrivener, I then sat down and managed 1,097 words for Catch the Rainbow. This meant I could now print off the prologue and the start of the first chapter and get some feedback from the business manager. (He liked it.)

Homework w/c 20 January 2016
Today’ I’ve been pitching for jobs, so hopefully one of those will come in over the next week. I also want to do more of Catch the Rainbow and Scrivener. If I get chance, I’d also like to do that short story and fiction writing course work I didn’t manage last week.

I’m still waiting for the new cover for the new version of Night Crawler: a Marcie Craig Mystery. So far he has a white-washed canvas and is in Scotland now for the next 2 days. We may not meet my 29 January deadline on that …

What are you up to this week?

2 thoughts on “Diary of a freelance writer: 20 January 2016

Leave a Reply

